Innovation Medal - Research & Innovation - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Innovation Medal

The Innovation Medal is defined as “the proactive transformation of academic knowledge and ideas leading to their adoption by the wider community”.

The Medal shall be for excellence in transforming knowledge or ideas so they are adopted by the wider community in ways that contribute beneficial value.

The Innovation Medal is of similar prestige to the University’s Research and Teaching medals, and a maximum of one award is made each year. The award is open to all continuing staff – or staff who have relinquished a continuing position within the past three years.

Nominations are to be prepared and submitted by Heads of Department/School via their Pro-Vice-Chancellor/SMT member. If a Head of Department/School is nominated then the Pro-Vice-Chancellor/SMT member should lead the process.  Full details of the criteria and selection process are available on the staff intranet and are attached.

As part of the nomination process the Head of Department/School should notify eligible nominees of their nomination with an invitation to provide a portfolio of their achievements. A timeframe of four weeks should be given to nominees for preparation of the portfolio.

A Selection Committee chosen by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) will consider all nominations and a recommendation will be forwarded to Council for its consideration.

Refer to the R&I intranet page for information on the nomination process (staff only).

Previous WinnersInnovation Medal photograph

The Innovation Medal has been awarded previously to:


Innovation Medal Design

The medal was designed by Aaron Beehre, lecturer at the School of Fine Arts, University of Canterbury.

The design reflects the spirit of innovation, shows a modern high-tech object evolving from a traditional base and was constructed using high density, high refractive index glass.

Other Awards

Please also view our other awards: KiwiNet Awards, UC Research Medal and Early and Emerging Career Research Award.